[nfbmi-talk] Fw: Transitioning to Postsecondary

fred olver goodfolks at charter.net
Tue Aug 18 15:26:00 CDT 2009


Transitionning to Postsecondary
----- Original Message ----- 
From: HumanWare 
To: fred olver 
Sent: Tuesday, August 18, 2009 3:20 PM
Subject: Transitioning to Postsecondary



     
               
         Transitioning to Postsecondary 
            Learn how disability-related legislation impacts your rights and the responsibilities of post-secondary institutions. Plus, what colleges can do to ensure a smooth transition. 
             
            (a large print text only version is available at: http://www.humanware.ca/web/en/newsletter/53-t.htm) 

            Guest speaker: Nina Ghiselli, PsyD 

            Discussion will include information on legislation and services that are provided by the Disability Resource Office. Take a closer look at how to access textbooks and resources in an accessible format. Answering questions regarding what colleges can do to help ensure smooth transition? 

             
            Thursday August 20, 2009 

              19:00 (UTC) Coordinated Universal Time
              12 p.m. to 1 p.m. Pacific Daylight Saving Time
              1 p.m. to 2 p.m. Mountain Daylight Saving Time
              2 p.m. to 3 p.m. Central Daylight Saving Time
              3 p.m. to 4 p.m. Eastern Daylight Saving Time 

            Location: Webinar through the HumanWare weblink. 

              Register online now

            All participants go to: http://www.tcconference.com/humanware 

            (Note: if you are a first time user, you will need to select the Download button prior to entering the session. This will take a few minutes. Once done, select "Enter the room". Follow the instructions, no password required please type your name to join the presentation). 

            Nina Ghiselli, PsyD. is the system-wide director of disability services and adjunct faculty at Alliant International University and a psychologist in private practice. She also teaches courses at U.C. Berkeley Extension and Argosy University and consults with schools and agencies on how to make their programs more accessible to people with disabilities.

            Dr. Ghiselli, who has a language-based learning disability, teaches courses on disability law, application to the clinical population, effective teaching, and diversity. Her clinical work focuses on adults with disabilities.


--------------------------------------------------------------------

            Future webinars session: 

            Please save the date and register for this upcoming webinar as we continue this educational series. 

            Recording for the Blind and Dyslexic - Preparing for Fall 2009 

            Guest speaker: Stephanie Turner

            August 27, 2009

              19:00 (UTC) Coordinated Universal Time
              12 p.m. to 1 p.m. Pacific Daylight Saving Time
              1 p.m. to 2 p.m. Mountain Daylight Saving Time
              2 p.m. to 3 p.m. Central Daylight Saving Time
              3 p.m. to 4 p.m. Eastern Daylight Saving Time


            Webinar Presentation 

            Stephanie Turner will be speaking about the services that are offered by Recording for the Blind and Dyslexic. During this hands-on workshop you will learn about player authorization, "fee or free" services, how to download books, and find out about what is coming up for RFBD. We will conclude with a questions and answers session. 

            If you have any questions regarding Recording for the Blind and Dyslexic, please forward them to Brenda.mcbride at humanware.com or sturner at rfbd.org before August 25, 2009. 


--------------------------------------------------------------------

            ClassMate Reader 101: how to download the free Save as DAISY Add-in for WORD. Walkthrough describing the basics steps to creating accessible files using WORD and the Save as DAISY add-in. (Full Text/ Full Audio) 

            Guest speaker: Stephanie Turner 

            August 27, 2009

              19:00 (UTC) Coordinated Universal Time
              12 p.m. to 1 p.m. Pacific Daylight Saving Time
              1 p.m. to 2 p.m. Mountain Daylight Saving Time
              2 p.m. to 3 p.m. Central Daylight Saving Time
              3 p.m. to 4 p.m. Eastern Daylight Saving Time 

            Webinar Presentation 

            Stephanie Turner will be speaking about the services that are offered by Recording for the Blind and Dyslexic. During this hands-on workshop you will learn about player authorization, "fee or free" services, how to download books, and find out about what is coming up for RFBD. We will conclude with a questions and answers session. 

            If you have any questions regarding Recording for the Blind and Dyslexic, please forward them to Brenda.mcbride at humanware.com or sturner at rfbd.org before August 25, 2009. 


--------------------------------------------------------------------

            ClassMate Reader 101: how to download the free Save as DAISY Add-in for WORD. Walkthrough describing the basics steps to creating accessible files using WORD and the Save as DAISY add-in. (Full Text/ Full Audio) 

            Speaker: Brenda McBride

            Tuesday, September 1 , 2009 

              21:00 (UTC) Coordinated Universal Time
              2 p.m. to 3 p.m. Pacific Daylight Saving Time
              3 p.m. to 4 p.m. Mountain Daylight Saving Time
              4 p.m. to 5 p.m. Central Daylight Saving Time
              5 p.m. to 6 p.m. Eastern Daylight Saving Time

            Webinar Hands-on Presentation
            Discussion will include information on how to download the Save as DAISY WORD add-in and use it to create a DAISY file which can then be copied on the ClassMate Reader. 

            If you have any questions, please forward them to Brenda.mcbride at humanware.com before August 28, 2009. 


--------------------------------------------------------------------

            Dyslexic Brain - Learn the latest 

            Guest speaker: Rene King 

            Tuesday September 15th, 2009 

              23:30 (UTC) Coordinated Universal Time
              4:30 p.m. to 5:30 p.m. Pacific Daylight Saving Time
              5:30 p.m. to 6:30 p.m. Mountain Daylight Saving Time
              6:30 p.m. to 7:30 p.m. Central Daylight Saving Time
              7:30 p.m. to 8:30 p.m. Eastern Daylight Saving Time 

            Webinar Presentation 

            How is the dyslexic brain different from another brain? What kind of gifts do the dyslexics have? How does technology best work for persons who have dyslexia? What is the latest research and information about dyslexia? 

            If you have any questions, please forward them to Brenda.mcbride at humanware.com before September 10, 2009. 


--------------------------------------------------------------------

            Parenting: how to work with "the system" to best provide services for your child. 

            Guest speaker: Marion McBride 

            Thursday, October 8th, 2009 

              21:00 (UTC) Coordinated Universal Time
              2 p.m. to 3 p.m. Pacific Daylight Saving Time
              3 p.m. to 4 p.m. Mountain Daylight Saving Time
              4 p.m. to 5 p.m. Central Daylight Saving Time
              5 p.m. to 6 p.m. Eastern Daylight Saving Time 

            Webinar Presentation 

            Discussion will include information on unfamiliar terminology, ways to work with the school system before the first report card comes out, resources from the web and videos that will help you understand your child and what it is like to have a learning disability in addition to ways to connect with the local support groups in your state or province. 

            If you have any questions, please forward them to Brenda.mcbride at humanware.com before October 6th, 2009. 


--------------------------------------------------------------------

            About HumanWare 

            HumanWare is the global leader in assistive technologies for the print disabled. HumanWare provides products to people who are blind or have low vision, and individuals with learning disabilities. HumanWare offers a collection of innovative products, including BrailleNote, the leading productivity device for the blind in education, business, and for personal use; the Victor Reader product line, the world's leading digital audiobook players; myReader2, HumanWare's unique "auto-reader" for people with low vision; and the ClassMate Reader, the only portable book player to offer synchronized text and audio for individuals. 
           
        
            ©2009 HumanWare. Unsubscribe from this newsletter. 
           
     
 


More information about the nfbmi-talk mailing list