[nfbmi-talk] Fw: New Webinar Scheduled: Enhancing Student Services to Provide Accessibility in Post-Secondary Settings

joe harcz Comcast joeharcz at comcast.net
Thu Feb 23 13:57:49 CST 2012


----- Original Message ----- 
From: Robin Jones 
To: GREATLAKES at LISTSERV.UIC.EDU 
Sent: Thursday, February 23, 2012 2:52 PM
Subject: New Webinar Scheduled: Enhancing Student Services to Provide Accessibility in Post-Secondary Settings


            The Great Lakes ADA Center is pleased to announce an upcoming webinar titled:  Enhancing Student Services to Provide Accessibility in Post-Secondary Settings 
           

       

            This 90 minute session is a collaborative between RESNA Catalyst Project and the Great Lakes and Southwest ADA Center.  

             

            When:  February 29, 2012

            Time:   2:00pm Eastern/1:00 pm Central/12:00pm Mountain/11:00am Pacific  (Session is 90 minutes in length)

            Cost:    Free*

             

            Speakers:  Bryan Ayres M.Ed, Director of the Technology and Curriculum Access Center at Easter Seals Arkansas, Janet Peters, Project Coordinator for Accessible Technology, Great Lakes ADA Center and Ron Stewart, Chair of AHEAD's Technology Standing Committee will be on hand to discuss the topic of assuring accessible education for post-secondary students through assistive technologies.

             

            Topics covered:
           
     
              a.. Fundamental principles of the Quality Indicators in Assistive Technology for Post-Secondary (QIAT-PS).
              b.. How assistive technologies enhance learning opportunities for students with disabilities in post-secondary settings.
              c.. Why Institutions of higher education (IHEs) must provide accessible materials and instruction to students with disabilities.
              d.. Available resources on instructional materials through the national center
             

            To register for this free* webinar session visit: http://www.adaconferences.org/RESNA/. 

             

            *Continuing education credits are available for this program through RESNA. For information about obtaining credit individuals should contact Nancy Maindenbauer at nmeidenbauer at resna.org ($16 fee to receive credits). 

             

            Sessions are presented via a fully accessible ElluminateLive! Platform. For first time users it is recommended that you prepare your technology prior to the session. For more information about this platform visit: http://www.elluminate.com/Support/ and under the First Time Users option choose "ElluminateLive!". 

             

            Questions:  877-232-1990 (V/TTY) or send an email to adaconferences at adagreatlakes.org

             
           
     

 



More information about the nfbmi-talk mailing list