[NFBMO] Affiliate award winners

GeneCoulter at Charter.net GeneCoulter at Charter.net
Fri Jan 29 06:39:57 UTC 2021

As requested here is a list of  Missouri Affiliate Award winners. There may
be some gaps or missing folks let me know is you spot any.
Gene Coulter

Winners of Affiliate Awards, 1962-2020


1962: tenBroek - Downtown Optimist Club

1963:  TenBroek, Flora Hirsch

1964:  TenBroek, Delores Hakan (Benjamin)

1965:  TenBroek, Walt Bodine

1966:  Parin D. McElroy Award, Larry Tittle

            TenBroek, Mike Combs

1967:   Parin D. McElroy Award, Dora Tolle

1968:  TenBroek, Philip Scaglia

1969: Parin McElroy, Gwen Rittgers;

           TenBroek, Carl Wyatt

Also In the sixties Polly Salter and Cotton Busby received the Parin D.
McElroy award)


1972: Parin McElroy , George Rittgers?

1973:  TenBroek, Helen Ruth Hill

Parin D. McElroy Award, Nel Martin

Resolution 73.02 changed the name of the Parin D. McElroy Award to the
Kenneth Jernigan Award on April 15,1973 with Dr. Jernigan present at the
Aladdin Hotel in Kansas City.

1974:  Neither award presented.

1975:  Jernigan, Rhoda Dower

           TenBroek, Martha Kelley

1976:  Jernigan, Tiny Beedle;

           TenBroek, Maggie Getz

Scholarship Gary Wunder

1977:  Jernigan, Margaret Bohley

           TenBroek, Nick Mahoney

1978:  Jernigan, John Dower

           TenBroek, Bill and Jama Sims

1979:  Jernigan, Gary Wunder;

           TenBroek, John and Louise Orick

Scholarships Jan Purdy and Carol Giesing (Coulter)

1980:  Jernigan, Tom Stevens

Scholarship Carol Giesing (Coulter)

1981:  Jernigan, Jana Sims (Moynihan)

1982:  Jernigan, Billie Weaver

           TenBroek, Lawson Weaver

1983:  Jernigan, Nick and Debbie Whitney

           TenBroek, Delores Barton (Watson)

Scholarship Patty Jaycox (Stift)

1984:  Jernigan, Loretta Benavidez

           TenBroek, John Thompson

Employer of the Year - University of Missouri Hospital and Clinics

1985:  Jernigan, Bill Neal

           TenBroek, not given

1986:  Jernigan, Pauline Murphy

           TenBroek, Diana Aubuchon

1987:  Jernigan, Rita Lynch

           TenBroek, Helen Stevens

1988:  Jernigan, Roy Zuvers

           TenBroek, Mary Lewis

1989:  Jernigan, Ed Bryant

           TenBroek, Tom Culliton

1990:  Jernigan, not given

           TenBroek, June Homan

1991:  Jernigan Jim Moynihan

           TenBroek, Thelda Borisch

1992:  Jernigan, Melvin Lewis

           TenBroek, Cletus Hentges

            Rittgers, Tom and Helen Stevens

1993:  Jernigan, Debbie Worley (Wunder)

           TenBroek Betty Meyer

           Rittgers, Dick Morris

            Zuvers Traveling Trophy, Jeff City

1994:  Jernigan, Carol Coulter

           TenBroek, not awarded

            Zuvers Traveling Trophy, Jeff City

1995:  Jernigan, John Ford

           TenBroek, Irene Wyatt

            Zuvers Traveling Trophy, Jeff City

1996:  Jernigan, Patricia Morrow

           TenBroek, not given

           Rittgers, Dick Edlund

           Affiliate, Joe and Shirley Sutton

           Zuvers Traveling Trophy, St. Louis

1997:  Jernigan, Susan Ford

           TenBroek, Dianna Morris

           Affiliate, Rita Lynch, Gary Wunder

            Zuvers Traveling Trophy, Columbia

1998:  Jernigan, Larry Murphy

           TenBroek, Lawrence Luck

            Affiliate, Beth Eckles

Zuvers Traveling Trophy, Jeff City

1999:  Jernigan, Eugene Coulter

           TenBroek, not given

            Affiliate, Cletus Hentges

           Rittgers, Diane McGeorge

Webmaster Award Lawrence Coulter (For establishhing the website on December

            Zuvers Traveling Trophy, Jeff City

2000:  Jernigan, Shelia Wright

           TenBroek, Larry Polk

            Zuvers Traveling Trophy, Columbia



2001:  Jernigan, Martha Young

           TenBroek, Cora Underwood

           Affiliate, John and Sandy Halverson

            Zuvers Traveling Trophy, Kansas City

2002:  Jernigan, Dick Morris

           TenBroek, Jeff Wright

            Zuvers Traveling Trophy, Kansas City



2003:  Jernigan, Ruby Polk

            TenBroek, Lois Ulmer

            Affiliate, Rep. Roy Blunt, R-MO

            Zuvers Traveling Trophy, Kansas City

2004:   Jernigan: not given

            TenBroek: not given

            Affiliate: Shelia Wright

            Zuvers Trophy: Kansas City chapter

2005: Jernigan: Pat Arnold

tenBroek: Deborah Stroup 

Affiliate: Missouri Assistive Tech

Zuvers Traveling Trophy: Kansas City



Jernigan: Not Given

tenBroek: Elizabeth Coulter

Zuvers Traveling Trophy: Kansas City

King & Queen - St. Louis Betty Meyer & Bryan Schulz



Jernigan: Jeremiah Wells

tenBroek: Not Given

Zuvers Traveling Trophy: Kansas City

King & Queen  - Kansas City (Dave Hutchins & Gloria Carson)


Jernigan - Not Given

Ten Broek - Alvin Toebben

Zuvers Traveling Trophy - Kansas City

King & Queen - Kansas City (Dave Hutchins & Gloria Carson)

Affiliate Award - Representative Danie Moore - May 15, 2008




Jernigan Award - Not Given

tenBroek - Not Given

Zuvers Traveling Trophy - Kansas City Chapter

King & Queen Contest - Willa Patterson for Kansas City




Jernigan - Not Given

tenBroek Award - Phyllis Wilson

Traveling Trophy - Kansas City

King & Queen - Sarita Cann and Claudell Cann for Kansas City

Scholarship Winners - Sheila Mathews, Antone Jenkins and Ashley P



Jernigan - Not Given

tenBroek - Not Given

? Affiliate - Martha Kelly

Traveling Trophy - Kansas City

King & Queen - Dave Hutchins and Debbie Eifler, Kansas City Chapter

Scholarships - Sylvia Modesitt, Chad Rohr, Ryan Wood

2012 Jernigan - Dan Flasar 

tenBroek- Jerry Wilson 

Roy Zuvers Travelling trophy Kansas City 

King and Queen Kansas City

2013 Jernigan- Not given 

tenBroek- Justin Cole 

Roy Zuvers travelling Trophy- 

Kansas City King and Queen-Jefferson City

2014 tenBroek not given

Jernigan not given

Affiliate Eugene Coulter

2015 Jernigan Gary Horchem

tenBroek Laura Rios

Affiliate Susan Ford

2016 Jernigan Dacia Cole

2017 Jernigan - Chris Tisbale
tenBroek Kathy and Ron Hurley
Special Flame Award Gary Wunder (one time only award)
Scholarships Ethan Baldwin, Nina Theroff, and Ruth Oleynik

2018 Wunder Award Carol Coulter 
2019 Jernigan Julie McGinnity

2020 Jernigan Robin House
tenBroek  Britany Berk 
In 2017 the name of the Affiliate Award/Rittgers Award was changed to the
Gary L. Wunder Award.


More information about the NFBMO mailing list