[vendtalk] FW: Wolf Amendment and Transportation Update

Kevan Worley kevanworley at blindmerchants.org
Wed Aug 5 17:41:36 UTC 2009




Dear BEA members:


We have received many inquiries about the results of the vote on the Wolf
amendment in the House Appropriations Committee. The amendment would have
allowed the privatization of highway rest stops in the state of Virginia,
setting a terrible precedent for other states and nation-wide policy.
Fortunately, the amendment was defeated by a vote of 32-26. 


At the end of this message you will find a list of all House Appropriations
Committee members who voted for and against this amendment. It is very
important that those who supported us on this hear from blind vendors in
their states, thanking them. It is also important that those who voted for
the amendment are urged to reconsider their stance. If members from your
state are on this list, please reach out to them and let them know that this
is an important issue to blind entrepreneurs by either thanking them or
asking them to rethink their vote.  The BEA has also sent letters to
Appropriations Committee members, but it is essential that they hear from
entrepreneurs and constituents.  That means you! Copies of the letters are
attached so that you can use them as templates in writing to your


Thank you for your continued efforts on this issue and your defense of
business opportunities for blind entrepreneurs.


Sean and Catriona


Nays (32)


Ed Pastor (D-AZ)

Marion Berry (D-AR)

Michael Honda (D-CA)

Adam Schiff (D-CA)

Barbara Lee (D-CA)

Lucille  Roybal-Allard   (D-CA)

Sam Farr (D-CA)

John Salazar (D-CO)

Rosa DeLauro  (D-CT)

 F. Allen Boyd   (D-FL)

Jack Kingston   (R-GA)

Todd Tiahrt (R-KS)

Ben Chandler (D-KY)

C.A. Ruppersberger (D-MD)

John Olver (D-MA)

Carolyn Kilpatrick (D-MI)

Betty McCollum (D-MN)

Jo Ann Emerson (R-MO)

Steven  Rothman (D-NJ)

Steve Israel (D-NY)

Nita Lowey (D-NY)

Maurice Hinchey (D-NY)

Steven  LaTourette (R-OH)

Tim Ryan (D-OH)

Marcy  Kaptur (D-OH)

John Murtha (D-PA)

Chaka  Fattah (D-PA)

Lincoln Davis    (D-TN)

Chet Edwards  (D-TX)

Ciro Rodriguez (D-TX)

Norman Dicks  (D-WA)

David Obey (D-WI)


Yeas (26)


Robert  Aderholt (R-AL)

Jo Bonner (R-AL)

Ken Calvert (R-CA)

Jerry Lewis (R-CA)

Debbie Wasserman Schultz (D-FL)

C.W. Bill Young (R-FL)

Ander Crenshaw (R-FL)

Mike Simpson  (R-ID)

Jesse Jackson (D-IL)

Peter Visclosky (D-IN)

Tom Latham (R-IA)

Harold  Rogers (R-KY)

Rodney Alexander (R-LA)

Denny  Rehberg (R-MT)

Rodney Frelinghuysen (R-NJ)

Jose Serrano (D-NY)

David Price (D-NC)

Tom Cole (R-OK)

Patrick Kennedy (D-RI)

Zach Wamp (R-TN)

John Carter (R-TX)

John Culberson (R-TX)

Kay Granger (R-TX)

Frank Wolf (R-VA)

James Moran (D-VA)

Alan Mollohan (D-WV)



-------------- next part --------------
A non-text attachment was scrubbed...
Name: Wolf Amendment Reconsider.doc
Type: application/msword
Size: 36352 bytes
Desc: not available
URL: <http://nfbnet.org/pipermail/vendtalk_nfbnet.org/attachments/20090805/e13a26cd/attachment.doc>
-------------- next part --------------
A non-text attachment was scrubbed...
Name: Wolf Amendment Thank you.doc
Type: application/msword
Size: 35840 bytes
Desc: not available
URL: <http://nfbnet.org/pipermail/vendtalk_nfbnet.org/attachments/20090805/e13a26cd/attachment-0001.doc>

More information about the VendTalk mailing list