[Nfbmo] Jernigan Award

Gary Wunder gwunder at earthlink.net
Sun Jan 11 21:39:09 UTC 2009

A Resolution Regarding the Jernigan Award

Adopted March 31, 1985

Amended March 16, 2002

                WHEREAS, time, and the lack of good documentation have a way of obscuring both the purpose for and the criteria to be used in giving organizational awards, and


                WHEREAS, the Jernigan Award has been a subject of considerable controversy because of these very problems, and


                WHEREAS, more recently we have had a dispute over who is to comprise the Committee which selects recipients, now, therefore:


BE IT RESOLVED that the following policy statement be adopted and implemented in future selections:


1.         The Jernigan Award is presented by the Missouri Affiliate of the National Federation of the Blind to a Federationist who has performed outstanding service to his fellow blind over a prolonged period of time.


2.             The recipient of this award shall be a resident of the State of Missouri.


3.             The recipient of this award shall be an active member of the National Federation of the Blind's Missouri Affiliate.


4.             The committee charged with selecting recipients of the award shall consist of the most recent three recipients of the award.  If, for whatever reason, one or more of the past recipients cannot serve, the committee shall be composed of recipients from previous years with the selection proceeding in reverse chronological order until three committee members are seated.  


5.             From this point forward, the Jernigan Award shall be presented to one individual.  Awards to families and couples shall be prohibited.


6.             The most recent recipient of the Jernigan Award shall serve as the Chairman of the Jernigan Award Committee.  If, for whatever reason, this person cannot serve on the committee, the office of Chairperson shall fall to the most recent recipient available.


7.             This award is presented only as often as the committee deems that a deserving person is available.


8.   All nominations shall be in writing and distributed to all committee members by the Chairperson. 


9.             A copy of this resolution shall be forwarded by the President of the Missouri Affiliate to the Chairman of the Jernigan Award Committee who shall send it to each member of the committee.


More information about the NFBMO mailing list